Women in Engineering Programs

If you are interested in a program, please call or write the organization listed for the most current information available.
 

ALABAMA

100 Women Strong
Auburn University
Samuel Ginn College of Engineering
1320 Shelby Center
Auburn, AL 36849-5330
334-844-2736
Contact: Mindy Street
Website: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/giving/areas/100-women-strong/


ALASKA

 


ARIZONA

Southwest Institute for Research on Women (SIROW/WISE)
University of Arizona Women's Studies Department
PO Box 210025
Tucson, AZ 85721-0025
Contact: Sally Stevens (sstevens@u.arizona.edu)
Website: http://sirow.web.arizona.edu/

 


CALIFORNIA

Cal Poly Pomona Edison International Women in Engineering (CPP WE)
California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
College of Engineering
3801 W. Temple Ave.
Pomona, CA 91768
Contact: Dr. Cordelia Ontiveros (engineering@cpp.edu)
Website: http://www.cpp.edu/~engineering/diversity/cppwe/cppwe.shtml


Women's Engineering Program
California Polytechnic State University
San Luis Obispo, CA 93407
Contact: womens-engineering@calpoly.edu
Website: http://wep.calpoly.edu/


Virtual Development Center
Institute for Women and Technology
400 Rosewood Ave.
San Jose, CA 95117
Contact: Gloria Montano (gmontano@iwt.org)
Website: http://www.anitaborg.org/projects/vdc.html


Women in Engineering
University of California - Santa Barbara College of Engineering
Dean's Office
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-5130
Contact: Phyllis Brady (pbrady@engineering.ucsb.edu)
Website:


Women in Engineering Programs
University of California - Davis
One Shields Avenue
Davis, CA 95616-5294
Contact: Lilian Davila, Coordinator for Diversity Programs (lpdavila@ucdavis.edu)
Website: http://wie.engineering.ucdavis.edu/


Women in Engineering
University of Southern California
Viterbi School of Engineering
Los Angeles, CA 90089
Contact: Kate Baxter (viterbi.wie@usc.edu)
Website: http://viterbi.usc.edu/students/undergrad/women/
 


COLORADO

Women in Science, Engineering & Mathematics Program
Colorado School of Mines
1710 Illinois St.
Golden, CO 80401
tel: 303-273-3146
Contact: Stephanie Berry (stberry@mines.edu)
Website: http://wisem.mines.edu


Women & Minorities in Engineering Program (WMEP)
Colorado State University
College of Engineering
1301 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1301
Contact: Aaron Benally, Coordinator (aaron.benally@colostate.edu)
Website: https://www.engr.colostate.edu/students/wmep/


Women in Engineering Program University of Colorado - Boulder
Campus Box 422
Boulder, CO 80309-0422
Contact: Beverly Louie (beverly.louie@colorado.edu)
Website: http://engineering.colorado.edu/WIEP/


CONNECTICUT

 

 


 

 

DELAWARE

The Women in Engineering Program
University of Delaware
College of Engineering, 102 DuPont Hall
Newark, DE 19716
tel: (302) 831-2401, fax: (302) 831-8179
Contact: Pam Cook, Associate Dean of Engineering (cook@math.udel.edu)
Website: http://www.engr.udel.edu/wie/mission.html.

 


FLORIDA

Women in Math, Science and Engineering (WIMSE)
The Florida State University
513 Keen Building
Tallahassee, FL 32306-4349
tel: 850-645-1984, fax: 850-644-6735
Contact: Susan Blessing, Director (wimse@www.fsu.edu)
Website: http://www.fsu.edu/~wimse.

 


GEORGIA

The Georgia Tech Women In Engineering (WIE) Program
Georgia Institute of Technology
225 North Avenue, Atlanta, GA 30332-0361
(404) 894-7010
Contact: Mimi Philobos, Director, Women in Engineering Program (mahera.philobos@ce.gatech.edu)
Website: http://www.coe.gatech.edu/wie/.

 


HAWAII

Women in Technology Project
Maui Economic Development Board, Inc.
590 Lipoa Parkway
Suite 103
Kihei, HI 96753
Contact: Christine Andrews (candrews@medb.org)
Website: http://www.womenintech.com/

 


ILLINOIS

Women in Science & Engineering (WISE) Program
University of Illinois at Chicago
1640 W. Roosevelt Rd.
Chicago, IL 60608-6900
Contact: Veronica Arreola, MPA, (wiseuic@uic.edu)
Website: www.uic.edu/orgs/wise


The Women in Engineering Program
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Engineering Hall, MC-272, 1308 W. Green St.
Urbana, IL 61801
tel: (217) 244-3517
Email: wie@uiuc.edu
Website: http://www.engr.uiuc.edu/wie/index.htm.

 


INDIANA

Women in Science Programs
Purdue University
150 North University Street, Math Science Building, Room 913
West Lafayette, IN 47907-2068
Email: sciencewisp@purdue.edu
Website: www.science.purdue.edu/wisp


Women In Engineering Program
Purdue University
Civil Engineering Building, Room G167
550 Stadium Mall Drive
West Lafayette, IN 47907-2051
Contact: Dawn Mikels (puwie@ecn.purdue.edu)
Website: http:/www.purdue.edu/wiep


Women's Engineering Programs
University of Notre Dame
College of Engineering
257 Fitzpatrick Hall
South Bend, IN 46556
Contact: Catherine Pieronek (pieronek.1@nd.edu)
Website: http://www.nd.edu/~engwomen/


Women In Science Program
Indiana University
1021 E. Third St.
Bloomington, IN 47405-7005
Contact: Mindy Criser (wisp@indiana.edu)
Website:

 


IOWA

Women in Science and Engineering Program (WISE)
University of Iowa
412 Gilmore Hall
Iowa City, IA 52242-1320
Phone: 319-335-3511
Contact: Chris Peterson Brus (christine-brus@uiowa.edu)
Website: www.uiowa.edu/~wise/


Program for Women in Science and Engineering
Iowa State University
218 Carver Hall
Ames, IA 50011
Phone: 515-294-0966
Contact: Karen Zunkel (pwse@iastate.edu)
Website: http://www.pwse.iastate.edu/

 


KANSAS

Women in Engineering and Science Program (WESP)
Kansas State University
125 Seaton Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506
Tel. 785-532-3395
Contact: Kimberly Douglas, Director (wesp@k-state.edu)
Website: http://www.k-state.edu/wesp/


K-State Office for the Advancement of Women in Science and Engineering (KAWSE)
Kansas State University
125 Seaton Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506
Tel. 785-532-6088
Contact: Chardie Baird, Executive Director (kawse@ksu.edu)
Website: http://www.ksu.edu/kawse


Multicultural Engineering Program
Kansas State University
1056 Rathbone Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506
Tel. 785-532-5949
Contact: Laverne Bitsie-Baldwin, Director (ksumep@ksu.edu)
Website: http://www.engg.ksu.edu/mep


Women in Engineering Program (WiE)
Kansas State University
1042 Rathbone Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506
Tel. 785-532-5592
Contact: Bette Grauer, Assistant Dean
Website: http://www.ksu.edu/rdi/wie

 


KENTUCKY

Women in Engineering Program
University of Kentucky
379 RGAN Building
College of Engineering
Lexington, KY 40506-0503
(859) 257-1080
Contact: Diane Freeman, Coordinator, Women in Engineering (dfreeman@engr.uky.edu)
Website: www.engr.uky.edu/wie


Minority and Women in Engineering Programs
Speed Scientific School
University of Louisville
Louisville, KY 40292
Contact: Brenda Hart (bghart01@gwise.louisville.edu)
Website:

 


MARYLAND

Center for Women in Technology
University of Maryland Baltimore County (UMBC)
1000 Hilltop Circle
ITE Room 452
Baltimore, MD 21250
Contact: Dr. Penny Rheingans (rheingan@umbc.edu )
Phone: (410)-455-2822
Website: www.umbc.edu/cwit


Women in Engineering Program
University of Maryland
1131 Glenn L. Martin Hall
College Park, MD 20742
(301-405-3931)
Contact: Paige Smith (pesmith@umd.edu)
Web Site:  www.wie.umd.edu


MASSACHUSETTS

ARROWS: Advance, Recruit, Retain & Organize Women in STEM
Boston University
1 Silber Way
Boston, MA 02215
617-358-1206
Contact: Joyce Y. Wong, Ph.D. , Director, ARROWS
Email: arrows@bu.edu
Website: www.bu.edu/arrows

 

Women in Engineering
Northeastern University
220 Snell Engineering Center
360 Huntington Avenue
Boston, MA 02115
617-373-3402 (phone), 617-373-8504 (fax)
Contact: Rachelle Reisberg, Director of Women in Engineering, Associate Director of Connections (r.reisberg@neu.edu)
Website: http://www.coe.neu.edu/wie/


Women in Engineering Organization
Tufts University
200 College Ave.
Medford, MA 02155
Contact: Meghan McInnis (meghan.mcinnis@tufts.edu)
Website: http://www.engineering.tufts.edu/wieo/index.html


Center for Diversity and Inclusive Leadership in Science and Engineering (DILES) 
Tufts University
200 College Ave.
Medford, MA 02155
Phone: 617-627-4594, Fax: 617-627-3819
Contact: Larisa K. Schelkin, Director (schelkin@tufts.edu)
Website:


Gender & Diversities Institute
Education Development Center, Inc.
55 Chapel St.
Newton, MA 02458
Contact: Katherine Hanson (khanson@edc.org)
Website:


Success From the Inside Out for Women
137 Barrett St.
Northampton, MA 01060
Contact: Valerie Young (vyoung@impostorsyndrome.com)
Website:


Office of Multicultural Affairs
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
100 Institute Rd.
Worcester, MA 01609
Contact: Julia Sorcinelli, Outreach Coordinator for Women’s Programs (jsorcinelli@wpi.edu)
Website: http://www.wpi.edu/offices/multiculturalaffairs.html

 


MICHIGAN

Women in Engineering, Recruitment and K-12 Outreach
Michigan State University
428 S. Shaw Lane, Room 1410
Phone: 517 884-0054
Contact: Teresa Isela VanderSloot, Director (iselava1@egr.msu.edu)
Website: http://www.egr.msu.edu/wie


Women in Engineering, Student Success
Michigan State University
428 S. Shaw Lane, Room 1108
Phone: 517355- 6616 X3
Contact: Judy Cordes, Director (cordes@egr.msu.edu)
Website: http://www.egr.msu.edu/wie


Women in Engineering Program
Michigan Technological University
1400 Townsend Drive, Houghton, MI 49931-1295
Phone: 906-487-2219, fax: 906-487-3101
Contact: Peter Larsen, Director (yp@mtu.edu)
Website: http://youthprograms.mtu.edu/wie/


Center for the Education of Women
University of Michigan
330 E. Liberty
Ann Arbor, MI 48104-2289
Contact: Jeanne Miller (jemiller@umich.edu)
Website: www.umich.edu/~cew


Women Student Affairs
Kettering University
1700 W. Third Avenue
Flint, MI 48504-4898
Contact: Betsy Homsher (bhomsher@kettering.edu)
Website:


Women in Science & Engineering
University of Michigan
1240 LEC
1221 Beal Ave.
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2102
Contact: Cinda-Sue Davis (csdavis@umich.edu)
Website: www.wise.umich.edu/


Women in Science & Engineering Program
University of Michigan
200 Observatory
218 Mosher Jordan Hall
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
Contact: Juliet Ballard (jwballar@umich.edu)
Website:

 


MISSISSIPPI

Women in Engineering Program Mississippi State University
Mississippi State, MS
Contact: Noel Schulz (nschulz@engr.msstate.edu)
Web Site: http://www.engr.msstate.edu/current_students/women_engineering/index.php

 


MISSOURI

Women In Science & Engineering (WISE)
University of Missouri - Rolla
Rolla, MO 65409-0150
phone: 573-341-7286, fax: 573-341-4890
Contact: Cindi Vogt (cvogt@umr.edu)
Website: http://wise.umr.edu


Women's Leadership Institute
University of Missouri - Rolla
Rolla, MO 65409-0150
phone: 573-341-6798, fax: 573-341-4890
Contact: Cecilia Elmore (elmorec@umr.edu)
Website: http://wli.umr.edu

 


NEW HAMPSHIRE

Women In Science Project
Dartmouth College
8000 Cummings Hall
Hanover, NH 03755-8000
Contact: Mary Pavone (mary.pavone@dartmouth.edu)
Website: www.dartmouth.edu/~wisp

 


NEW JERSEY

Rutgers Women in Engineering Initiative
Rutgers University School of Engineering
Phone: 732-445-2687 x18, Fax: 732-445-5878
Contact: Candiece White (cawhite@rci.rutgers.edu)
Website: soe.rutgers.edu/women-engineering


Lore-El Center for Women in Engineering and Science
Stevens Institute of Technology
802 Castle Point on Hudson
Hoboken, NJ 07030
Phone: (201) 216-5245, Fax: (201) 216-5175
Contact: Kathleen Fleming (kbott@stevens-tech.edu)
Website:


Murray Women's Center
New Jersey Institute of Technology
University Heights
Newark, NJ 07102
Contact: Talina Knox (knoxt@njit.edu)
Website: http://www.njit.edu/v2/womenscenter/


FEMME Program
New Jersey Institute of Technology
Center for Pre-College Programs
University Heights
Newark, NJ 07102
Description: The Women in Engineering and Technology Initiative-FEMME Program is a five-week program designed to provide post-fourth through post-eighth grade girls with opportunities to enhance their mathematics, science and technological academic achievement, develop problem-solving and critical thinking skills, and promote self-esteem and self-confidence. The program's goal is to encourage girls to choose careers in scientific and technological fields in which women are traditionally underrepresented. FEMME provides an intensive five-week summer component for six groups of female students and includes classroom discussions, computer activities, laboratory experiments, projects, and field trips. Engineering themes include: Environmental--4th grade, Aeronautical--5th grade, Mechanical--6th grade, Chemical--7th grade, Biomedical--8th grade.
Contact: Ana Cortina (cortina@adm.njit.edu) or Tammy Knight, New Jersey Institute of Technology (973-596-3550)
Website: www.njit.edu/precollege
 


NEW YORK

Diversity Programs in Engineering
Cornell University
146 Olin Hall
Ithaca, NY 14853
Phone: 607.255.6403, Fax: 607.255.2834
Contact: Sara Hernandez, Assistant Director of Diversity Programs (sh267@cornell.edu)
Website: http://www.engineering.cornell.edu/diversity/


Women in Engineering Programs
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
JEC-3004
110 8th Street
Troy, NY 12180-3590
Contact: Barbara Ruel (ruelb@rpi.edu)
Website: http://www.eng.rpi.edu/soe/profile_womentech.cfm


Women in Engineering Rochester Institute of Technology (WE@RIT)
Building GLE/9 Room 2505
77 Lomb Memorial Drive
Rochester, NY 14623-5603
tel: 585-475-6321, fax: 585-475-7845
Contact: we@rit.edu
Website: http://we.rit.edu/


Women in Technology Rochester Institute of Technology
CAST Dean's Office-Ross Building
15 Lomb Memorial Drive
Rochester NY 14623
Contact:  Elaine Lewis   wit@rit.edu
tel: 585-475-4576
http://www.rit.edu/cast/wit/


Women in Science and Engineering (WISE)
SUNY at Stony Brook
P-120 Physics Building
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3800
Contact: Sharon Pavulaan (spavulaan@notes.cc.sunysb.edu)
Website: http://www.wise.sunysb.edu

 


NORTH CAROLINA

Women in Science and Engineering (WISE)
Duke University
Women's Center
Durham, NC 27708
(919) 684-3897
Contact: Tong Ren, WiSE Program Coordinator (tong.ren@duke.edu)
Website: http://www.duke.edu/web/wise/


Women in Engineering Program
North Carolina State University
118 Page Hall, Box 7904
Raleigh, NC 27695
(919)-515-2315
Contact: Laura J. Bottomley, Coordinator (laurab@eos.ncsu.edu)
Website: http://www.engr.ncsu.edu/students/
womeninengineering/



Women In Science & Engineering (WISE) Village
North Carolina State University
108 Lee Hall, Campus Box 7904
Raleigh, NC 27695
(919) 513-7608
Contact: Rachel Collins Butler, director (wisedirector@ncsu.edu)
Website: http://www.ncsu.edu/wise/

 


OHIO

WISER--Women in Science and Engineering Roundtable
Case Western Reserve University
Cleveland, OH 44106
Contact: Mary Rouse (mar135@case.edu)
Website: http://www.case.edu/provost/centerforwomen/wiser


Women in Engineering Program
University of Akron
Akron, OH 44325
(330) 972-7701
Contact: Heidi Cressman (hec9@uakron.edu)
Website: http://www.wiep.uakron.edu/


Women in Science and Engineering (WISE)
University of Cincinnati
Cincinnati, OH 45221
Contact: Urmila Ghia, PhD (urmila.ghia@uc.edu)
Website: www.wise.uc.edu/wise/WISEbrochure.pdf


Rowe Center for Women in Engineering
University of Cincinnati
College of Engineering
Cincinnati, OH 45221
Contact: Julie Burdick (julie.burdick@uc.edu)
Website: http://www.eng.uc.edu/prospectivestudents/rowecenter/


Women in Engineering (WiE) program 
The Ohio State University
122 Hitchcock Hall
2070 Neil Avenue
Columbus, OH 43210
Contact: Holly Longman (longman.7@osu.edu)
Website: wie.osu.edu


Women in Engineering Technologies Institute
Sinclair Community College

Dayton, OH
937-512-2330
Contact: Natalie Royer (natalie.royer@sinclair.edu)
Web Site: http://www.sinclair.edu/organizations/wiet/institute/index.cfm


Women in Engineering University of Dayton
Dayton, OH 45469-0229
(937-229-3296)
Contact: Barbara Abels (wie@udayton.edu)
Web Site: http://www.udayton.edu/engineering/diversity/women_engineering.php
 


OKLAHOMA

Women in Engineering, Architecture and Technology
Oklahoma State University
(405.744.5276)
Contact: Bethany A. King, Ph.D., Coordinator (bethany.king@okstate.edu)
Web Site: http://studentservices.okstate.edu/weat


Diversity Programs/Multicultural Engineering Program (MEP) University of Oklahoma
865 Asp Avenue, Felgar Hall 112B
Norman, OK 73019
Phone: 405.325.0095, Fax: 405.325.1366
Contacts: Lisa Morales, Director of Diversity/MEP (lmorales@ou.edu); Tiffany Smith, Women in Engineering Coordinator (tdsmith@ou.edu)
Web Site: http://www.ou.edu/coe/wie

 


OREGON

AWSEM (Advocates for Women in Science, Engineering & Mathematics)
Saturday Academy
(503-725-2332)
Contact: Joyce Cresswell (awsem@pdx.edu)
Web Site: http://www.saturdayacademy.org


The Girl Scouts - Columbia River Council
Girl Scouts
Oregon
(503-598-6519)
Contact: Ruthe Farmer (farmerr@juliette.org)
Web Site: http://www.girlscoutscrc.org/forms


Oregon State University
Women and Minorities in Engineering Program
145 Batcheller Hall, Corvallis, OR
541.737.9699
Contact: Ellen Momsen, Director of WME (ellen.momsen@oregonstate.edu)
Website: http://engr.oregonstate.edu/wme/

 


PENNSYLVANIA

Women in Engineering Program
Penn State University
University Park, PA 16802
Phone: 814-863-1080, Fax: 814-863-7496
Contact: Helen Edson, Program Manager, (hedson@engr.psu.edu)
Web Site: http://www.engr.psu.edu/wep 


Women in Engineering Day
Penn State Erie, The Behrend College
Phone: 814-898-6655, Fax: 814-898-6125
Contact: Melanie Ford, Director, (MelanieFord@psu.edu)
Web Site: behrend.psu.edu/academic/engineering/Outreach/WomenInEngineering.htm


WISE Institute
The Pennsylvania State University
111 Kern Building
University Park, PA 16802
Contact: Katie Rung (cxg1@psu.edu)
Website:

 


RHODE ISLAND

WISE Program
Brown University
Box 1939
Providence, RI 02912
Contact: Katharine Wilson (katharine_wilson@brown.edu)
Website:

 


SOUTH CAROLINA

Clemson University
WISE--Women in Science & Engineering
Clemson, SC
(864-656-7472)
Contact: Serita Acker (wserita@ces.clemson.edu)
Web Site: http://www.ces.clemson.edu/wise/

 


SOUTH DAKOTA

South Dakota School of Mines & Technology
Women in Science and Engineering (WISE)

Rapid City, SD
(605-394-1968)
Contact: Royia Decker (Royia.Decker@sdsmt.edu)
Web Site: http://www.sdsmt.edu

 


TEXAS

University of Texas at Austin
Women in Engineering Program

BWY 109
2616 Wichita Street, Austin, TX 78712
Contact: Tricia Berry (tsberry@mail.utexas.edu)
Website: www.engr.utexas.edu/wep/


UTAH

Women in Engineering
University of Utah
1495 East 100 South, Kennecott 206
Salt Lake City, UT 84112
Phone: 801-581-8954
Contact: Amanda May, Administrative Program Coordinator (Amanda.may@utah.edu)
Website:


VIRGINIA

WEST, Women in Engineering Support Teams
Virginia Tech
215 Hancock Hall (0275)
Blacksburg VA 24061
Phone: (540) 231-3973, Fax: (540) 231-1831
Contact: Whitney Edmister, Assistant Director, CEED (wedmiste@vt.edu)
Website: http://www.eng.vt.edu/academics/mentor.php


Hypatia, Women in Engineering Learning Community
Virginia Tech
215 Hancock Hall (0275)
Blacksburg VA 24061
Phone: (540) 231-3973, Fax: (540) 231-1831
Contact: Whitney Edmister, Assistant Director, CEED (wedmiste@vt.edu)
Website: http://www.eng.vt.edu/academics/ceed_learn_com.php

 


WASHINGTON

Women in Science and Engineering (WiSE)
University of Washington
Loew Hall 301
Seatlle, WA
206-543-1770
Contact: Marsha Lee (uwwise@u.washington.edu)
Website: http://www.engr.washington.edu/wise/

 

WISCONSIN


Women in Engineering, Mathematics and Science Program
University of Wisconsin-Platteville
1 University Plaza
Platteville, WI 53818
Tel: (608) 342-1563, Fax: (608) 342-1566
Contact: Tammy Salmon-Stephens (salmont@uwplatt.edu)
Website: http://www.uwplatt.edu/ems-success/wems